Flycatcher Announce New EP Stunt, Share First Single “Always Selfish”

Following 2018’s Other Things and 2019’s Songs for Strangers, New Jersey’s Flycatcher have announced their upcoming EP, Stunt, out April 4th on Memory Music. The release marks their first under the indie label of grammy-nominated producer Will Yip (Code Orange, The Menzingers, Tigers Jaw). The lead single “Always Selfish,” is full of the anthemic urgency with which fans of Flycatcher are already familiar, but it also marks a shift into a sound that is at once more polished and cohesive yet simultaneously darker and headier than anything the band has shown us on their previous releases.

Flycatcher, hailing from New Brunswick (the center of New Jersey), is made up of frontperson Gregory Thomas Pease, Justin VanNiekerk on guitar, Jack Delle Cava on bass, and Connor Carmelengo on drums and has called Stunt a more “intentional” project than their previous albums, one that pushes into a lyrical honesty that also feels like a new direction for Flycatcher.

Don’t you wanna disappear? You thought you had it figured out this time last year. Why’s the exit so unclear?” Pease asks in the first lines of “Always Selfish.” He continues his line of questioning throughout the song, wrestling with what to do when you can’t find answers to questions you were afraid to ask in the first place: “Do you like what you found? And when the answer isn’t there, you’ll run and hide and tuck your tail and no sound can come out from your mouth.

You can pre-order Stunt now and watch the video for “Always Selfish” below.

Creative director & editor – Benjamin Lieber @BenjaminMLieber. Director of Photography – Kris Khunachak @KrisKhunachakMM Studio. Waterfront Studios @wfstudiosbk

The first 500 vinyl pre-orders through Bandcamp receive a limited edition pink vinyl.

Keep up with Flycatcher by following them on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

Enjoy this article? Like our live sessions? Consider subscribing to us on Patreon and help us support independent musicians and our writers!