Camp Cope Announces New LP Running with the Hurricane, Shares New Single

Camp Cope are back and just announced the follow-up to their acclaimed 2018 album, How to Socialise and Make Friends. The Melbourne rock trio is set to release their third album, Running with the Hurricane, on March 25th, 2022.

They released the title track as well – an uplifting and cathartic song where singer-songwriter Georgia Maq sings, “the only way out is up.” It’s a beautiful track about pushing through pain and trauma. The song also has a killer bassline, courtesy of bassist Kelly-Dawn Hellmrich. And, according to drummer and percussionist Sarah Thompson, the faint sound of a tambourine being obliterated can be heard in the penultimate moments…

“Running with the Hurricane” is actually the second track that’s been released from the upcoming album. Back in November, the group released “Blue,” which will also be on the LP. According to a press release from Maq, “The first record was us diving into whatever Camp Cope created, the second album was us when we were in the thick of it, and then this album is about how we’ve come out the other side. And we’ve come out stronger, more loving, more peaceful and better friends.

The album is named after a track from political folk group Redgum. Maq’s late father, Hugh McDonald, was a member of the group.

Pre-orders for Running with the Hurricane are available now through Run For Cover records. Various exclusive vinyls are available, including a pink splatter vinyl and a BrooklynVegan exclusive clear and baby pink moon phase vinyl.

You can listen to the new track, “Running with the Hurricane,” below.

Finally, the track listing for the upcoming album is as follows:

1. Caroline
2. Running with the Hurricane
3. One Wink at a Time
4. Blue
5. The Screaming Planet
6. Love Like You Do
7. Jealous
8. The Mountain
9. Say the Line
10. Sing Your Heart Out